GWS Faculty & Lecturers

 

Core Faculty

Name Title Research Interests Email Address
Brier, Jennifer Director of Gender & Women's Studies; Associate Professor of Gender & Women's Studies and History Explores the historical intersections of gender, race, and sexuality. Historian of the AIDS crisis in the US. jbrier@uic.edu
Ferguson, Roderick Professor, Gender & Women's Studies and African American Studies
Race, gender, and critical theory. rfergus@uic.edu
Gutierrez, Elena Associate Professor, Gender &Women's Studies and Latin American and Latino Studies History of Latinas in the birth control movement, the politics of Latina health in Chicago, reproductive justice for Latina youth, mental health, and the effects of immigration reform on healthcare access. elgut@uic.edu
Jackson, Lynette Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor, Gender & Women's Studies and African American Studies
Social justice and human rights activism, with a particular focus on the human rights of women and girls and lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered peoples in Africa. lajackso@uic.edu
Kapadia, Ronak Assistant Professor, Gender & Women's Studies and  Affiliated Faculty, Asian American Studies Race, sex, and empire in the late 20th and early 21st century United States. ronak@uic.edu
Moruzzi, Norma Associate Professor, Gender & Women's Studies, Political Science, and International Studies Program Politics of social identity, with particular emphasis on the intersection of gender, religion, and nationalisms. nmoruzzi@uic.edu
Naber, Nadine Associate Professor, Gender & Women's Studies and Asian American Studies Transnational feminisms; women of color and queer of color theory; de-colonizing feminisms; empire studies; critical race studies; and Middle East Studies; and Arab American Studies. naber@uic.edu
Nishida, Akemi Assistant Professor Gender & Women's Studies and Disability Studies How ableism and saneism are exercised in relation to racism, sexism, and other forms of social injustices. nishidaa@uic.edu
Ransby, Barbara Professor, Gender & Women's Studies, African American Studies, and History Study of African American feminist organizations in the 1970s, and a political biography of Eslanda Cardozo Goode Robeson. bransby@uic.edu
Reddy, Gayatri Associate Professor, Gender & Women's Studies and Anthropology Sexuality, gender, health, and the politics of subject and community-formation in India, as well as within the immigrant South Asian queer community in the U.S. Broadly gayatri@uic.edu
Schaffner, Laurie Associate Professor, Sociology, Gender & Women's Studies, and Criminology, Law and Justice Gender, adolescence, morality, and the law. schaff@uic.edu

GWS Affiliated Faculty

Name

Title

Research Interests

Email Address

Córdova, Teresa
Director, Great Cities Institute Global/local dynamics, including impacts of globalization on Latino communities.
tcordova@uic.edu
Decoteau, Claire Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies Social Theory, Cultural Sociology, Sociology of Health and Medicine, Sociology of Knowledge, Sociology of the Body, Globalization, Gender/Sexuality, Race/Ethnicity, and Ethnography. decoteau@uic.edu
Eaton, Anne Associate Professor Feminism, aesthetics and philosophy of art, value theory, and Italian Renaissance painting. 
eaton@uic.edu
Frohmann, Lisa Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice

Social Construction of Legalities, Gender, Race, Class and the Law, Social Control Processes and Institutions, Violence Against Women.

lfrohman@uic.edu
Garcia, Lorena Associate Professor, LALS and Sociology Gender, Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, U.S. Latina/os, Youth, and Qualitative Methods  lorena@uic.edu
Guevarra, Anna Associate Professor & Director, Asian American Studies Immigrant and transnational labor, the geopolitics of carework, critical diaspora studies, and community engagement as they relate to dynamics of race, gender, and empire. guevarra@uic.edu
Lee, Lisa Director, School of Art and Art History Museums and diversity, cultural and environmental sustainability, and spaces for fostering radically democratic practices. lisalee@uic.edu
Richie, Beth Professor of African American Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, Criminology, Law and Justice, and Sociology & Director, Institute for Research on Race and Public Policy How race/ethnicity and social position affect women's experience of violence and incarceration, focusing on the experiences of African American battered women and sexual assault survivors. brichie@uic.edu
Risman, Barbara Professor and Head, Sociology Gender inequality and families; feminist activism and public sociology. brisman@uic.edu
Quinn, Therese Director, MUSE & School of Art and Art History Experiences of non-dominant group users of mainstream museums. thereseq@uic.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Title Research Interests Email Address
D’Emilio, John Professor, Gender & Women's Studies and History Gay and lesbian studies; the history of sexuality; social movements; and U.S. history after 1945. demilioj@uic.edu
Gardiner, Judith Professor Emerita, Gender & Women's Studies and English Feminist theory, twentieth-century writing by women, seventeenth-century English literature, women's studies, and masculinity studies. gardiner@uic.edu
Riger, Stephanie Professor Emerita, Gender & Women's Studies and Psychology The impact of welfare reform on domestic violence; evaluation of domestic violence and sexual assault services.  sriger@uic.edu
Strobel, Peg Professor Emerita, Gender & Women's Studies

GWS Lecturers

Name Title Research Interests Email Address
Chu, Erica Adjunct Lecturer Gender and race rooted in decolonial and gender-expansive futures.  ericachu@uic.edu
Lewis, Deana G. Clinical Lecturer Black girlhood studies, the school/prison nexus, and youth incarceration. dlewis25@uic.edu
Rupert, Jennifer Lecturer
jrupe1@uic.edu